Board of Directors

Board of Directors:


 David Johnston, President

David Johnston has been Michigan’s Military & Space Heroes Museum Board President for the past 31 years. A native of Frankenmuth, David served in the U.S. Army from 1963 to 1965. He returned to his hometown and was the Credit and Branch Manager for the General Electric Credit Corporation (now known as GE Capital). David was also Partner and Office in TW Johnston and Sons Ltd., operating grocery stores, variety stores, and crafts stores. He was also elected to the Board of Directors of the Frankenmuth Insurance Company, a position he has held since 1996.
David remains heavily involved in the Frankenmuth community. He has been a board member for the following organizations: Frankenmuth Jaycees, Frankenmuth United Way (President 1974-75), Frankenmuth Convention and Visitors Bureau, Frankenmuth Chamber of Commerce (President from 1981-83 and 1999-2000), Frankenmuth Rotary Club (President 1992-93), and Frankenmuth Downtown Development Authority (Treasurer). David also served on the St. Lorenz School Board for six years.colorlinehoriz greenstar

  Greg Rummel, Vice-President



colorlinehoriz  greenstar 

  Michael Murphy, Treasurer

Michael Murphy has been a Michigan’s Military & Space Heroes Museum board director for two years and was recently elected to serve as the board Treasurer in January. A longtime resident of Frankenmuth, Michael served in the U.S. Marine Corps from 1969 to 1971. He graduated from Michigan State University in 1975 with a BA in English Education. He also earned a MA in Educational Administration from Michigan State University.
Michael worked in the Frankenmuth School District for 15 years – five as the Assistant Superintendent and 10 years as the Superintendent.  Prior, he served as the Director of Curriculum for the Saginaw Intermediate School District (a county-wide organization).  Before that, Michael worked in the neighboring community of Birch Run as a high school English teacher for 12 years and as its Curriculum Director. He was named Educator of the Year in 1980. He is a member of the Frankenmuth Rotary Club and works as a volunteer during the annual Frankenmuth Autofest.
greenstar  Deborah Hardin, Secretary


Board of Directors
Sharon Block

Jon Bozich
Tony D’Anna
John Ellsworth
Scott Furtaw
Mike Grobbel



David Hall
David Bewley 

Lew Dodak 
Chip Sassone
Jonathan Webb
Branden Minuth

Flag Status
100 Years of Heroes